Event Details

Wild, rough, gentle and breathtakingly beautiful: this is northern Spain! A wonderful spot and a paradise for surfing.

Two weeks ago I entered northern Spain in Irun, hundreds of kilometres later I was sitting in a café in Santiago de Compostela and reviewing time. Thousands of meters of altitude difference we went up and down again – a constant up and down. Wonderful coastal roads, dreamlike bays and monotonous main roads impressed themselves in my mind and body. I have suffered and laughed, let myself be enchanted by the country and have taken the people into my heart.

NORTHERN SPAIN – MOVIE

Only where you’ve been on foot, you’ve really been.

Many kilometres I was on the Camino del Norte or Camino de la Costa. One of many Way of St James leading to Santiago de Compostela. But neither an imposed bus, the fulfillment of a vow or a spiritual deepening was and is the goal of my journey. My geographical destination is therefore not a pilgrimage church, but the perfect wave that spurred me on to go further west every day – or in the words of Johann Wolfgang von Goethe: “Only where you were on foot did you really go”.

The search for the perfect wave was on ice. I had neither the strength nor the coordination to surf.

The almost 1,000 kilometres along the north coast of Spain were not always easy. At the beginning I was struck by heavy storms and rain showers, the Pyrenean runoffs challenged my body and many an ascent brought me to the brink of despair. But there was only one way out: getting up and walking on. The surfing of the perfect wave moved far, far into the distance. But it couldn’t rain all the time and when it goes up, it has to go down again sometime. After a week the weather calmed down and also the hilly landscape subsided more and more, so that I had again enough power reserves left to go surfing.

If language is the key to the soul of a people, many a door remained closed to me.

My original plan in the previous country to learn the language of the next country was pretty much in my pants and so I entered Spain without any language knowledge. While I was able to get by in France with my school French, many a dialogue fell silent after the greeting and a “lo siento no hablo español” at the roadside. A world closed for me and so I will agree with Ludwig Wittgenstein for this and all my future micro expeditions: “The limits of my language mean the limits of my world”.

Journey with Thomas
You can follow his entire journey here. In regular intervals Thomas provides us with travel reports, pictures and videos, which are published here and on Facebook under the Hashtag #OANATRIP. Stay tuned!

Wann
Eintritt

Event Details

Wild, rau, sanft und atemberaubend schön: Das ist Nordspanien! Ein wunderbarer Fleck Erde und ein Paradies zum Surfen.

 

 

Vor zwei Wochen betrat ich in Irun den Norden Spaniens, hunderte Kilometer später sitze ich in einem Café in Santiago de Compostela und lasse die Zeit Revue passieren. Tausende Höhenmeter ging es hinauf und gleichviel wieder hinunter – ein ständiges Auf und Ab. Wunderschöne Küstenstrassen, traumhafte Buchten und monotone Hauptstrassen prägten sich in meinen Geist und Körper ein. Ich habe gelitten und gelacht, habe mich vom Land verzaubern lassen und die Menschen in mein Herz geschlossen.

 

NORDSPANIEN – MOVIE

 

Nur wo du zu Fuss warst, bist du auch wirklich gewesen.

Viele Kilometer war ich auf dem Camino del Norte oder Camino de la Costa unterwegs. Einer von vielen Jakobswegen, welcher nach Santiago de Compostela führt. Doch weder eine auferlegte Busse, die Erfüllung eines Gelübdes oder eine geistliche Vertiefung war und ist das Ziel meiner Reise. Mein geografisches Ziel ist somit auch keine Wallfahrtskirche, sondern die perfekte Welle, welche mich anspornte, jeden Tag weiter Richtung Westen zu schreiten – oder in den Worten von Johann Wolfgang von Goethe: «Nur wo du zu Fuss warst, bist du auch wirklich gewesen.»

 

Die Suche nach der perfekten Welle lag auf Eis. Ich hatte weder genügend Kraft noch die notwendige Koordination zum Surfen.

Die knapp 1’000 Kilometer entlang der Nordküste Spaniens waren nicht immer leicht. Zu Beginn wurde ich von heftigen Stürmen und Regenschauern heimgesucht, die Ausläufe der Pyrenäen forderten meinen Körper hinaus und manch eine Steigung brachte mich an den Rand der Verzweiflung. Doch es gab nur einen Ausweg: Aufstehen und weitergehen. Das Surfen der perfekten Welle rückte weit, weit in die Ferne. Doch es konnte ja nicht immer regnen und wenn es hoch geht, muss es irgendwann auch wieder runter gehen. Nach einer Woche beruhigte sich das Wetter und auch die hügelige Landschaft legte sich immer mehr, so dass ich wieder genug Kraftreserven übrig hatte, um surfen zu gehen.

 

Wenn die Sprache der Schlüssel zur Seele eines Volkes ist, so blieb mir manch eine Türe verschlossen. 

Mein ursprünglicher Plan im vorhergehenden Land die Sprache des nächsten Landes zu lernen ging so ziemlich in die Hose und so betrat ich Spanien ohne jegliche Sprachkenntnisse. Während ich mich in Frankreich mit meinem Schulfranzösisch durchschlagen konnte, verstummte manch ein Dialog nach der Begrüssung und einem «lo siento no hablo español» am Strassenrand. Es verschloss sich eine Welt für mich und so werde ich für diese und all meine zukünftigen Mikroexpeditionen Ludwig Wittgenstein zustimmen: «Die Grenzen meiner Sprache bedeuten die Grenzen meiner Welt.»

 

 

Reise mit Thomas mit
Seine gesamte Reise kannst du hier nachverfolgen. In regelmässigen Abständen versorgt Thomas uns mit Reiseberichten, Bildern und Videos, welche hier und auf Facebook unter dem Hashtag #OANATRIP veröffentlicht werden. Stay tuned!

Wann
Eintritt